Yates 2nd as Pogacar closes in on victory in UAE Tour

Tadej Pogacar and Adam Yates
Pogacar (left) and Yates (accurate) done the stage in 2nd and third, on the equivalent time

Britain’s Adam Yates stays 2nd within the UAE Tour after failing to earn time on leader Tadej Pogacar on stage 5.

Crimson jersey wearer Pogacar, 22, is now expected to rob his 45-2nd lead during the final two shuffle phases.

Jumbo-Visma’s Jonas Vingegaard won the 166km stage to the end of Jebel Jais.

Ineos Grenadiers’ Yates, 28, turned into expected to assault Pogacar’s 45-2nd lead nonetheless he and the Slovenian crossed the twin carriageway collectively in 2nd at the aid of Vingegaard after a unhurried rally.

Handiest crashes or high winds splitting the peloton are most likely to offer Yates a chance to end the outlet across Friday and Saturday.

Final three hundred and sixty five days’s Tour de France winner Pogacar, who rides for UAE-Group Emirates, took the lead after Monday’s time trial when the winner of stage one, Mathieu van der Poel, left the shuffle after a staff member on his Alpecin-Fenix crew examined bound for coronavirus.

Pogacar held the final general classification after a tussle on Tuesday with Yates as much as Jebel Hafeet, and stayed firm in opposition to the Briton on Thursday’s ‘queen stage’, which has the absolute top mountains for total contenders to disclose essentially the most time over their competitors.

Four-time Tour de France winner Chris Froome done 42nd for his novel crew Israel Commence Up Nation, final larger than 16 minutes adrift total.

Froome, 35, said: “With quite of luck issues are coming collectively, nonetheless I positively need more of those races at the aid of me.”

Friday’s stage is a 165km shuffle around Dubai, stretching from Deira Island to Palm Jumeirah.

UAE Tour stage 5 consequence:

1. Jonas Vingegaard (Den/Jumbo-Visma) 4hrs 19mins 8secs

2. Tadej Pogacar (Slo/UAE-Group Emirates) +3secs

3. Adam Yates (GB/Ineos Grenadiers) same time

4. Sergio Huigita (Col/EF Training-Nippo) +5secs

5. Joao Almeida (Por/Deceuninck-Mercurial Step) +6secs

6. Gash Schultz (Aus/Group Bike Alternate) same time

7. Sepp Kuss (USA/Jumbo-Visma) +8secs

8. Wout Poels (Ned/Bahrain-Victorious) same time

9. Ben Hermans (Bel/Israel Commence Up Nation) same time

10. Geoffrey Bouchard (Fra/AG2R-Citroen) same time

Identical outdated classification:

1. Tadej Pogacar (Slo/UAE-Group Emirates) 17hrs 9mins 26secs

2. Adam Yates (GB/Ineos Grenadiers) +45secs

3. Joao Almeida (Por/Deceuninck-Mercurial Step) +1min 12secs

4. Chris Harper (Aus/Jumbo-Visma) +1min 54secs

5. Neilson Powless (USA/EF Training-Nippo) +1min 56secs

6. Mattias Jenson Skjelmose (Den/TRek-Segafredo) +2min 47secs

7. Damiano Caruso (Ita/Bahrain-Victorious) +2min 49secs

8. Mattia Catteno (Ita/Deceuninck – Mercurial Step) +4min 3secs

9. Ruben Fernandez (Spa/Cofidis) +4min 23secs

10. Fausto Masnada (Ita/Deceuninck-Mercurial Step) +6min 40secs


40. Chris Froome (GB/Israel Commence-Up Nation) +16mins 38secs

53. Trace Donovan (GB/Group DSM) +21mins 10secs

128. Harry Tanfield (GB/Group Qhubeka-Assos) +58mins 22secs

Around the BBC iPlayer banner

Around the BBC iPlayer footer

Back to top button